More Musical Inspiration

When I envision a story and start to write it plays out like a movie in my head complete with soundtrack the minute I hear an appropriate song.

For Shadows Fall Away it began with an image of a cute guy, ticked off at the world and everyone in it and riding his skateboard like  maniac to the tune of Good Charlotte’s Misery. I totally saw it as the opening of a movie with the skating cutting away to arguments with mom & dad, getting in trouble with bad news friends and closing out with my Mark standing before a juvenile court judge and hearing the verdict that would propel him into his adventure.

I confess, I’m all about counting the chickens before they hatch so of course I’m pondering the sequel to Shadows Fall Away even before it attracts an agent. Again it began to unfold like a movie. This time Mark had a more positive air about him even though he zipped around on his skateboard wildly enough to make the mother in me cringe. 🙂

A few chapters in, another song from a couple years back hit me as the focal point for Mark’s frame of mind as he watches the girl he thought would occupy his future begin to slip away.

 

(Carl Bell is a fabulous songwriter and so looks like Mark’s dad to me 🙂 )

Explore posts in the same categories: WIP Musings, writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “More Musical Inspiration”


  1. I love it when a story/song can do that. Make you picture how it would play out. I really think music helps make the scenes so much more real as we write them/contemplate them.

    So hope this story finds a home I absolutely LOVE IT!

    Like

  2. kitforbes Says:

    Thanks, Rebekah. I love Mark & Genie and I bet readers would, too. ^_^

    Like

  3. pennyrandall Says:

    Mark and Genie are adorable. I absolutely loved Shadows fall Away and want to know more of their story in the sequel. And I love it that you have these songs when you write them. It helps a lot if you find the right ones. It’s like having a bit of extra wind in your sails, that’s how I think of it anyway. xxp

    Like


  4. I wish I got song inspirations for my characters. I love that you do. However, whatever works for you, your writing is amazing and I’m glad that it does.

    Like


  5. Stopping by with TWO awards for you this morning. See my website at http://www.tracikenworth.wordpress.com for more details.

    Like


  6. I’ve had stories roll out like film but I’ve never heard songs. How lucky are you? 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

